The CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2003

Dan Fesperman wins with The Small Boat of Great Sorrows

The Small Boat of Great Sorrows

The second winner of the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger is Dan Fesperman for The Small Boat of Great Sorrows (Transworld Bantam). He wins the Dagger, plus £2000.

The Ian Fleming Steel Dagger has been suggested and sponsored by Ian Fleming Publications Ltd., to celebrate the best of contemporary thriller writing.

The other shortlisted books were:

Lee Child - Persuader - Transworld
Roger Jon Ellory - Candlemoth - Orion
Lucretia Grindle - The Nightspinners - Pan Macmillan
Robert Littell - The Company - Pan Macmillan
Henry Porter - Empire State - Orion
Gerald Seymour - Traitor's Kiss - Transworld Bantam

Eligible books are thrillers, adventure novels and spy fiction novels. They can come from authors of any nationality but must have been first published in the UK in English between 1st September and 31st August in each judging year.

The first prize of £2,000 and a Steel Dagger was awarded in 2002. Judging is administered by the Crime Writers' Association (who already run the Gold & Silver Dagger, the Short Story Dagger, the Non-fiction Dagger, the Creasey Dagger and the Ellis Peters Prize for Historical Crime Fiction).