Peter Temple and Philip Gooden

Photo: Candy Bryce

Peter Temple wins the Duncan Lawrie Dagger

Peter Temple has won the 2007 Duncan Lawrie Dagger, the biggest crime writing prize in the world, for his book The Broken Shore, published by Quercus. On learning of his success he said: “It's a huge thrill to win the Duncan Lawrie Dagger for The Broken Shore. You're up against some of the world's best crime writers in English. I was proud enough just to be the first Aussie to make the shortlist, let alone win.”

The prize for the best crime novel of the year was announced by Peter Ostacchini, Deputy Managing Director of sponsor Duncan Lawrie Private Bank, and the dagger and a cheque for £20,000 was presented by Ann Cleeves, who last year won the first Duncan Lawrie Dagger.

This year, the CWA and Duncan Lawrie Dagger Awards were presented at a black tie dinner at the elegant Four Seasons Hotel on Park Lane in London, in the presence of the guest of honour Bob Marshall-Andrews, QC, MP. The event began with a drinks reception at 6:30pm, followed by dinner in the ballroom at 7:45pm, before the winners were announced.

Peter Temple is Australia's most acclaimed crime and thriller writer. He has won the Ned Kelly Award for crime fiction five times and has a legion of fans around the world. He is the author of The Iron Rose, Shooting Star and In The Evil Day, and of four novels featuring lawyer, gambler and private eye, Jack Irish: Bad Debts, Black Tide, Dead Point and White Dog. The Broken Shore has won the Colin Roderick Award, the Ned Kelly, the Australian Book Industry Award for General Fiction Book of the Year 2006, and was longlisted for the Miles Franklin Award. Peter Temple lives in Ballarat, Australia, with his family.

The Broken Shore

The Broken Shore

Peter Temple


Synopsis: Broken by his last case, homicide detective Joe Cashin has fled the city and returned to his hometown to run its one-man police station while his wounds heal and the nightmares fade. He lives a quiet life with his two dogs in the tumbledown wreck his family home has become. It’s a peaceful existence - ideal for the rehabilitating man. But his recovery is rudely interrupted by a brutal attack on Charles Bourgoyne, a prominent member of the local community. Suspicion falls on three young men from the local Aboriginal community. But Cashin’s not so sure and as the case unfolds amid simmering corruption and prejudice, he finds himself holding on to something that it might be better to let go.

Judges’ comments: ‘This is a well written crime novel with excellent characterisation mingled with a subtle exploration of contemporary Australian landscape and mores. This is a first class read with a sympathetic engrossing police protagonist.’

The other shortlisted authors are listed below. See the shortlists page for more information about them.

Giles Blunt:Fields of Grief (HarperCollins)
James Lee Burke:Pegasus Descending (Orion)
Gillian Flynn:Sharp Objects (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)
Craig Russell: Brother Grimm (Hutchinson)
CJ Sansom:Sovereign (Macmillan)

This year's Duncan Lawrie Dagger judges

Geoff Bradley – (non-voting Chair) editor of Crime And Detective Stories (CADS) magazine

Lyn Brown MP – committee member on the London Libraries service

Steve Craggs – reviewer for the Northern Echo

Heather O'Donoghue – academic, linguist, crime fiction reviewer for The Times Literary Supplement, and keen reader of all crime fiction

Barry Forshaw – reviewer and editor of Crime Time magazine

Elinor Goodman – former political editor for Channel Four

Margaret Kinsman – academic and course director for BA English at London South Bank University

James Naughtie – BBC journalist and Radio Four Today programme presenter