Rory Clements

Photo: Naomi Clements

Tough choice for judges of historical crime fiction prize

Rory Clements wins the CWA Ellis Peters Award

Rory Clements has won the £3000 CWA Ellis Peters Historical Award 2010 with Revenger, published by John Murray. Responding to the announcement, he said “I am thrilled and very surprised. I didn't think I had a chance in such a strong shortlist.” The runner up was CJ Sansom, with Heartstone (Mantle).

CWA chair Tom Harper said: “The Ellis Peters Award has seen the judges given a really tough choice. The strength of the field confirms the robust health of historical fiction.” The judging panel added: “Two books were very close, which was unusual, and overall the standard was incredibly high.”

The winner was announced on Thursday November 4th, at an event at sponsor Little, Brown’s headquarters in London. There's more about the winner and the runners-up on the Ellis Peters Historical Award page. This announcement completes the 2010 season of CWA Daggers and awards.

Belinda Bauer and Simon Conway

Dagger winners announced

The winners of the CWA Gold, Ian Fleming Steel, and John Creasey Daggers were announced on October 8th 2010 at The Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2010, which took place at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London. The Awards ceremony was also screened on ITV3 during the following week.

Belinda Bauer (above left) has won the CWA Gold Dagger with Blacklands, published by Corgi; Simon Conway (above right) has won the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger with A Loyal Spy, published by Hodder & Stoughton while Ryan David Jahn won the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger with Acts of Violence, published by Macmillan New Writing.

CWA Chairman Tom Harper said: “In a year of intense competition, these three books represent the very best of the genre. It's particularly satisfying to see Belinda Bauer, runner-up for the CWA Debut Dagger award for unpublished authors two years ago, now scooping the biggest prize in crime fiction.

“We’re thrilled with the way Cactus TV and ITV3, and their sponsors Specsavers, have embraced the Daggers to bring them to the widest possible audience. Together with the retail promotion, more people than ever are now getting the chance to discover the best crime writing in the UK.”

The first set of winners of the 2010 CWA Daggers were announced at an earler ceremony at the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival, in Harrogate on July 23rd.

Johan Theorin has won the CWA International Dagger with The Darkest Room, Ariana Franklin the Dagger in the Library, and Ruth Dudley Edwards the Non-Fiction Dagger for Aftermath: The Omagh Bombing & the Families’ Pursuit of Justice.

The CWA Short Story Dagger was won by Robert Ferrigno with Can You Help Me Out Here, and the Debut Dagger for a previously unpublished author by Patrick Eden for the opening chapter of his story A Place of Dying.

The CWA Dagger Awards are the longest established literary awards in the UK and are internationally recognised as a mark of excellence and achievement.

Photo © 2010 Fiona Davies

Debut Dagger gets under way

The 2010/11 running of the CWA Debut Dagger kicked off on October 30th and will run till 5th February 2011. This competition for unpublished crime writers has launched the careers of a score or more of writers since its inception in 1998.

The Debut Dagger is open to anyone who has not yet had a novel published commercially. If you fancy a stab at it, and the chance to be a published crime writer, you can submit the opening chapter(s) – up to 3000 words – and a short synopsis of your proposed crime novel.

All shortlisted entrants will receive a generous selection of crime novels and professional assessments of their entries. The first prize is £700, but it’s not the money, it’s the attention that winners and everyone on the shortlist get from top-notch agents that is the main benefit.