The CWA Historical Dagger was founded in 1999. This Dagger is presented to a novel with a crime theme and a historical background of any period up to 35 years before the current year. A distinguished panel of judges is made up of reviewers, historians and highly qualified professionals. The panel is chaired by Eileen Roberts, Alumni Officer for St Hilda’s College, Oxford.

Previous Winners

For more information about the winners listed below, click the appropriate year.

2013: The Scent of Death (HarperCollins) - Andrew Taylor

2012: Icelight (John Murray) - Aly Monroe

2011: The Somme Stations (Faber and Faber) - Andrew Martin

2010: Revenger (John Murray) - Rory Clements

2009: If The Dead Rise Not (Quercus) - Philip Kerr

2008: Stratton’s War (Orion) - Laura Wilson

2007: Mistress of the Art of Death (Bantam Press) - Ariana Franklin

2006: Red Sky Lament (Orion) - Edward Wright

2005: Dark Fire (Macmillan) - CJ Sansom

2004: The Damascened Blade (Constable & Robinson) - Barbara Cleverly

2003: The American Boy (Flamingo) - Andrew Taylor

2002: Fingersmith (Virago) - Sarah Waters

2001: The Office Of The Dead (HarperCollins) - Andrew Taylor

2000: Absent Friends (Virago) - Gillian Linscott

1999: Two for the Lions (Century) - Lindsey Davis