The CWA Short Story Dagger was introduced in 1995 and was sponsored by The MACALLAN between 1995 and 2002.

It is now sponsored by the membership of the CWA. The winning story is selected by judges who are agents, authors and editors.

Previous Winners

For more information about the winners listed below, click the appropriate year.

2013: Come Away with Me by Stella Duffy
in The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime Volume 10. (Constable)

2012 Joint winners: The Message by Margaret Murphy and Laptop by Cath Staincliffe,
both in Murder Squad: Best Eaten Cold and Other Stories (The Mystery Press)

2011: Homework by Phil Lovesey
in The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime Vol 8 (Constable & Robinson)

2010: Can You Help Me Out Here by Robert Ferrigno,
in Thriller 2: Stories You Just Can’t Put Down (Mira)

2009: One Serving of Bad Luck by Sean Chercover,
in Killer Year (Mira)

2008: The Bookbinder's Apprentice by Martin Edwards,
in The Mammoth Book of Best British Mysteries (Constable Robinson<)

2007: Needle Match by Peter Lovesey,
in The Best British Mysteries (Allison & Busby)

2006: Sins of Scarlet by Robert Barnard,
in ID: Crimes of Identity (Comma Press)

2005: No Flies on Frank by Danuta Reah,
in Sherlock Magazine (Atlas Publishing)

2004: The Weekender by Jeffery Deaver,
in Twisted (Hodder & Stoughton)

2003: Closer to the Flame by Jerry Sykes,
in Crime in the City (Do-Not Press)

2002: Martha Grace by Stella Duffy,
in Tart Noir: An Anthology (Pan Macmillan)

2001: Prussian Snowdrops by Marion Arnott,
in Crimewave 4 (TTA Press)

Earlier Winners

2000: Helena and the Babies, by Denise Mina
in Fresh Blood 3 (The Do-Not Press)

1999: Taking Care of Frank, by Antony Mann
in Crimewave 2 (TTA Press)

1998: Roots, by Jerry Sykes
in Mean Time (The Do Not Press)

1997: On the Psychiatrist's Couch, by Reginald Hill
in WHYDUNNIT, The 1997 CWA Anthology (Severn House)

1996: Herbert in Motion, by Ian Rankin
in Perfectly Criminal (Severn House)

1995: Funny Story, by Larry Beinhart
in No Alibi (Ringpull)