CWA Diamond Dagger goes to Simon Brett

The Crime Writers’ Association is delighted to announce that the 2014 Diamond Dagger will be awarded to Simon Brett.

The Diamond Dagger is voted for by members of the CWA and celebrates an author with an outstanding body of work in crime fiction. Past winners include Val McDermid, Ian Rankin, Frederick Forsyth and Elmore Leonard. In 2013 the award went to Lee Child.

Simon Brett is the author of over ninety books, most of them crime novels, including the Charles Paris, Mrs Pargeter, Fethering and Blotto & Twinks series. His psychological thriller, A Shock to the System, was filmed starring Michael Caine. For radio he wrote No Commitments, Smelling of Roses and After Henry, which was also successful on television.

The diamond-studded Dagger will be awarded to Simon Brett at a gala dinner on the 30th June in London hosted by Lucy Worsley, who recently explored the phenomenon of our fascination with murder in the BBC television series ‘A very British Murder’.

Chair of the CWA, Alison Joseph said:
“I am delighted that the CWA Diamond Dagger for 2014 is to be awarded to Simon Brett. He is a writer of great wit and integrity, and his success over the years has been very well deserved. The Diamond Dagger is awarded not only for a writer’s work but also for their contribution to the genre, and Simon has always been a stalwart supporter of his fellow writers. I am sure I am not alone in feeling that it is entirely appropriate and merited that Simon should be receiving this award.”

More over on the Diamond Dagger page.

Entries for this year’s CWA Dagger Awards

The Crime Writers’ Association Daggers have been synonymous with quality crime writing for almost sixty years. Every year publishers put forward books for The Daggers, but until now the full list of titles submitted has not been revealed. The CWA has decided to open up this list, and you can see it via this new section on the CWA Daggers website.

As publishers enter books, and after the entries have been checked, they are appearing in our online lists. This year’s Daggers are for books published between 1 June 2013 and 31 May 2014. However, publishers have only two months, until 1 March, to submit their books. The first batch of 2014 shortlists will be announced at Crimefest in May.

Debut Dagger Competition ends

The CWA Debut Dagger Competition for 2014 is closed. We are now busy ensuring all of the entries are logged, referenced and sent to our teams of readers whose job it is to consider all submissions and to draw up the shortlist.

This year our judging panel includes Alison Joseph, Robert Peett, Leigh Russell, Sarah Hodgson and David Headley.

Shortlisted authors will be announced at CrimeFest in May 2014 and the winner will be announced at our CWA Dagger Awards Dinner on the 30th June in London.

We will contact ALL entrants to let them know whether they have been shortlisted but please be aware the judge’s decision is final and we will not enter into any correspondence about the results.

Dagger winners announced

Thursday 24 October: This evening, at a star-studded Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2013, the winners of the last three CWA Daggers were revealed.

Mick Herron’s Dead Lions was awarded the CWA 2013 Goldsboro Gold Dagger, for the best crime novel of the Year. The Judges described his book as “…a well written, wickedly clever send-up of the classic British spy novel.”

The CWA 2013 Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for best thriller of the year went to Roger Hobbs for Ghostman. And Derek B Miller won the CWA 2013 John Creasey Dagger, for best new crime writer of the year, with Norwegian by Night.

CWA Manuscript Assessment Service

The Crime Writers’ Association has been receiving very positive feedback from clients of its Manuscript Assessment Service. This service helps you to polish your writing, and prepare your manuscript for submission to agents and publishers. You can choose to submit either the opening chapters or a completed novel. You will then receive a detailed critique from a member of the CWA, all of whom are published crime writers.

Manuscripts can be uploaded via this section of our website, which has full submission guidelines.